Bake it: Carrot Orange & Bran Breakfast Muffins

Orange Carrot Bran Muffins

Orange you glad it’s not just another bran muffin?

Sometimes people are like, o gad, bran muffins suck. But these bran muffins are more than just 30% of your daily fiber. They’re zesty. Literally, because I put orange zest in them. But also they taste good.

For these I borrowed a Carrot Bran Muffin recipe from The Kitchen Magpie.

Modifications:

  1. The recipe calls for cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves–I also added some ground ginger. Next time I might add candied ginger. I just think it might add a weird but maybe awesome surprise?
  2. In place of 1/2 cup brown sugar, I used coconut sugar I found at Ralph’s Market. I find it’s less sweet and doesn’t taste like coconut.
  3. I grated zest from one orange into the batter right when you add the carrots. Also the batter looked a bit thick so I squeezed about a tablespoon of orange juice into it as well.
  4. I also liked Kitchen Magpie/Karlynn’s tip of soaking the raisins before you add them. It inflates them like little bloated grape corpses so they don’t get dry and gross while they bake.

She used wheat bran, but I just stole some of my dad’s All-Bran cereal and soaked it in the milk first before adding it to the batter.

This recipe gave me 18 muffins and they turned out moist and spicy, but thankfully not cloyingly sweet like those behemoths you get from Costco that could feed half the Duggars.

Coconut Sugar

coconut sugar

 

Orange-y Cream Cheese Topping

So because I put the muffins in cupcake liners, they looked kind of lonesome and pathetic without their little frosting swirly-hats. So I threw together a topping that can’t really be called icing, but is sweet enough to complement the non-sweetness of the muffin.

Ingredients

1/2 bar cream cheese

1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar

2 tablespoons orange zest

1 tablespoon orange juice

Instructions

  • Whip the cream cheese with electric mixer for 2 minutes until completely smooth.
  • Add orange juice and blend.
  • Add confectioner’s sugar–as much or as little as you like. This is to taste. Blend on high until lumps have disappeared.
  • Blend in the orange zest.
  • Wait until muffins have cooled completely before piping on the topping.

You could also use an apple corer to take out the centre of the muffins and fill them with this, leaving a little swirl on top to cover the hole. Just make sure to double the topping recipe.

orange carrot bran muffins

Kudos to Magpie on this recipe, and the next time you’re in the mood for fibre, I hope you give these a try.

Namaste, little baking buccaneers.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

